Trap Music Meets Church — Lecrae And Zaytoven Release New Album, And It’s TOO LIT!

Posted On : 06/24/2018

ATLANTA, GEORGIA — “Let The Trap Say Amen.” While it’s quite the phrase, it’s also the name of Lecrae’s and Zaytoven’s newest album together. How about these 808’s on your Sunday morning?

Lecrae has always been a bit edgy with his rap, when it comes to Christian rap. While ministering the gospel on hard-hitting beats, he’s no stranger to tackling real-world issues a lot of Christian artists won’t approach.

Now, the rapper has honed the assistance of world-famous producer Zaytoven — popular among artists such as Gucci Mane, OJ Da Juiceman, Waka Flocka, and several other trap artists.

And trust, this album is a certified hit! If you weren’t listening to the message behind Lecrae’s bars, you’d think someone was pulling up in the church blasting Gucci.

However, Lecrae’s lyrics are highly-inspiration while accompanied by Zaytoven’s known 808 mixes.

And please believe, Lecrae’s flow is lit!


According to Lecrae, he and Zaytoven met through mutual friends.

“He knew Shawn Holiday, Senior VP at Sony, who helped A&R my last album ‘All Things Work Together’,” Lecrae tells Billboard in an exclusive interview. “He also knew 1K Phew, a young artist that he was grooming and who I later signed to my label Reach Records.”

Reportedly, the project features guest appearances from Waka Flocka, 24Hrs, Verse Simmonds, ShySpeaks, and more. All the while, Zaytoven is responsible for the entire album’s production.

“We were together a lot while creating all of the songs. It was a really easy process, actually. We would just trade ideas in the studio; he would tell me what he thought a track needed and I would catch a vibe right there and jump in the booth. Or sometimes I would record separately and show him when he came into the studio, and he’d be like ‘wow!’…I think a lot of people don’t realize the diversity of the trap. Especially people that don’t understand what goes on in some of these communities. They don’t see the nuance. They only see the dope pushers, the money, the crime, and all that.”

According to Lecrae, he’s actually been a fan of Zaytoven for many years.

“I just never imagined we’d be working together on an album,” he tells the source. “But we just had this chemistry from the jump. He actually works a lot like I do. We tend to make song after song. But neither of us like to follow any kind of a script; it’s more of a feeling. That’s how the south moves as a whole, and we wanted to bring that into the music in every way.”

And it’s definitely done and knocking in fans’ speakers! Well received, Lecrae. Well received.

If you’re interested in the tracklist, it’s located below:

1. Get Back Right
2. Preach
3. 2 Sides of the Game (Ft. K-So & Waka Flocka Flame)

4. Plugged In

5. Holy Water
6. Blue Strips
7. Only God Can Judge Me
8. Ye
9. I Can’t Lose (Ft. 24hrs)
10. Switch (Ft. ShySpeaks)
11. Can’t Block It
12. Fly Away (Ft. ​nobigdyl.)
13. By Chance (Ft. Verse Simmonds)

All in all, let us know your thoughts about this Lecrae – Zaytoven collabo. How hard is this going to hit on your Sunday morning? If you have any comments, feel free to share them via our Facebook page.

NOTE: If you haven’t done so already, be sure to change Facebook notifications for The Black Loop to “See First,” so you don’t miss any breaking news or trending stories.

[Featured Photo via screengrab]

Share It!

Let Your Friends Know!